laMusica header.2psd


image qarzwsLa Musica, now in its third decade, has established itself as an artistic and critical success and an outstanding American cultural institution. Guided by Artistic Director Bruno Giuranna and Associate Artistic Director Derek Han, La Musica fulfills its mission to bring together the finest musicians from around the world to present exciting programs of familiar and seldom-heard chamber music, communicating a joy in performance to enthusiastic audiences. La Musica is steered by president Sally Faron, executive director Mark Noble, and a dedicated board of directors.

In 1992, La Musica moved from the Historic Asolo Theater to the Sarasota Opera House to perform its concerts. Also that year, La Musica was invited to the University of South Florida/New College for rehearsals and lectures, where it remains in residence in Mildred Sainer Pavilion, New College of Florida. Starting in 1994, new festival activities were added: special rehearsals for young people, pre-concert lectures, colloquia, and lectures by visiting scholars.

Throughout its history, La Musica has collaborated with other cultural organizations, both national (Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center) and local (Sarasota Film Society, Sarasota Ballet, Ringling College of Art and Design, GuitarSarasota).  New works have been commissioned and or premiered (Turchi, Wallach, Bracali, Wyner, Hyman, Winn, Tower, Bilik).  Each year since 1998, La Musica has embarked on a thematic excursion, exploring ways in which music relates to other art forms and cultural movements.